Kanpur Test Shreyas Iyer became the 16th Indian to score a century in the first test see the list here

India scored 345 runs in the first innings against New Zealand in the Kanpur Test. The hero of the Indian innings was Shreyas Iyer, who scored a century in his first Test match itself. Shreyas Iyer scored 105 runs in 171 balls with the help of 13 fours and 2 sixes. Tim Southee, caught out at the hands of Will, sent him to the pavilion. He completed 100 runs in 157 balls. In this way, Shreyas Iyer has become the 16th player from India to score a century in his first Test. Players like Rohit Sharma, Sourav Ganguly, Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Shikhar Dhawan are included in this list.

16 Indian players to score a century in debut test

  1. Lala Amarnath
  2. lamp purification
  3. AG Kripal Singh
  4. Abbas Ali Baig
  5. Hanumant Singh
  6. Gundappa Vishwanath
  7. Surendra Amarnath
  8. Mohammad Azharuddin
  9. Praveen Amre
  10. Sourav Ganguly
  11. Virender Sehwag
  12. Suresh Raina
  13. Shikhar Dhawan
  14. Rohit Sharma
  15. Prithvi Shaw
  16. Shreyer Iyer

Kanpur proved lucky for Iyer after Vishwanath

The special thing is that Gundappa Vishwanath also played his debut test in Kanpur and scored a century. Shreyer has become the second Indian batsman to achieve the same feat in Kanpur. At the same time, Shreyas is also the third Indian to score a century on debut against New Zealand. Earlier, Arjan Kripal Singh and Surinder Amarnath had achieved this feat against the Kiwis. Kripal Singh made his Test debut in 1955, Surinder Amarnath made his Test debut in 1976. Similarly, after Rohit Sharma and Prithvi Shaw, Iyer is the third player from Mumbai to score a century on Test debut.

Posted By: Arvind Dubey

Leave a Comment